AOT #208: Heidi Durrow Podcasts The Girl Who Fell From the Sky

April 5, 2010 by  
Filed under Book Store Events

Heidi DurrowThe Girl Who Fell From the Sky

Heidi Durrow has won the Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition and the Chapter One Fiction Contest. She has received grants from the New York Foundation for the Arts, the American Scandinavian Foundation, and the Lois Roth Endowment, and a Fellowship for Emerging Writers from the Jerome Foundation. Durrow reads from and discusses her acclaimed debut novel The Girl Who Fell From the Sky, which tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I., who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy. In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid’s Annie John and Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl- and society’s ideas of race, class, and beauty. It is the winner of the Bellwether Prize for best fiction manuscript addressing issues of social justice.

($22.95) Algonquin ISBN #978-1-56512-680-0. You can visit Heidi Durrow’s official web site as well.

Listen to Authors On Tour – Live! podcasts anywhere – Download our FREE iPhone App!

Comments

One Response to “AOT #208: Heidi Durrow Podcasts The Girl Who Fell From the Sky”
  1. Carol Wilson says:

    Thanks for all you do for the reading world. I love books. I have an iPod, an MP3 and a reading device so I can download books from many places in different formats. But sitting with a book in my hand and 10 on the table nearby gives me far more pleasure than listening. My books come from many sources; libraries, online sellers, along with used and new book stores. So as long as I have sight, I will never give up books.

    Carol W

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...